nav search

The Kingdom of Thailand

Updated: 2018-07-31

Print Mail   Large Medium Small

Area: 513,000 square kilometers

Population: 68.8 million

Capital: Bangkok

Administrative divisions:

Thailand is divided into 77 provinces, which are gathered into five groups of provinces by location. Each province is divided into districts and the districts are further divided into sub-districts. There is also one specially-governed district: the capital Bangkok.


Located in the southern part of Indochina Peninsula, Thailand is bordered by Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Malaysia. To its southeast is Gulf of Thailand and to its southwest is Andaman Sea.


The economy of Thailand is export-dependent. It is a traditional agriculture country, with agricultural products as its main source of foreign exchange income. It is also the world's largest exporter of natural rubber. In 2017, the economic data of Thailand are as follows:

GDP: 42.1 billion dollars

GDP growth rate: 3.9 percent

Currency: Baht

Resources: potassium salt, tin, lignite, oil shale, natural gas, and zinc, lead, tungsten, iron, antimony, chromium, barite, precious stones and oil.


Mining, textile, electronics, plastics, food processing, toys, automobile assembly, building materials, petrochemical, software, tires, and furniture.


The arable land covers an area of 1,600 square meters, accounting for 41 percent of the country's land area. Main corps include rice, corn, cassava, rubber, sugar cane, mung bean, hemp, tobacco, coffee beans, cotton, brown oil, coconut, etc.


Famous scenic spots are Bangkok, Phuket, Chiang Mai, Pattaya, Chiang Rai, Huaxin, and Koh Samui, etc.

Foreign trade:

In 2017, Thailand's total trade volume was $459.5 billion, up 12.3 percent year-on-year, of which exports amounted to $236.7 billion, up 9.9 percent year-on-year, and imports were $222.8 billion, up 14.7 percent year-on-year. Industrial products are Thailand's main growth point of export. The important trading partners of Thailand include China, Japan, ASEAN, the United States, and the European Union.